top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Elie Saab Spring 2018 Couture

Updated: Mar 2, 2018

Once again, Elie Saab has created an astoundingly ethereal collection of ostrich feathers, sequins,capes, intricate embellishments, and sunglasses that leave me with only two questions: HOW does he do it and WHY wasn't I born into a life of opulence wherein wearing these pieces could be my sweet reality?



Across the board, Spring 2018 Couture shows have been absolutely incredible. Its so unfortunate that I haven't hit my big break yet because, honestly, there have only been like, three shows that haven't taken my breath away. Why am I POOR when Elie Saab is putting ostrich feathers and a sequin overlay on EVERYTHING. THAT'S MY BRAND. THAT'S MY WHOLE DEAL. This is everything that should've happened when everyone on Earth was Daisy Buchanan for Halloween. I mean, if I never see anyone doing that ever again it will be too soon, but if you're going to do it, at least get on this level.


Personally, I'd pass on the bows if I was ever to wear these pieces (lol) but as a whole, it somehow just works in a way that only Elie Saab could make it work. Not only does the collection perfectly capture the aesthetic of the Art Deco era- down to every last embellishment - its HOT. THIS is the kind of hot I'm looking for. Tastefully slutty Daisy Buchanan & not a pair of nasty mini fishnet tights to be seen. That trend was trash. Elie always does an incredible job of making sure the woman wearing the dress is accentuated so she is as much a work of art as the dress itself, but my LORD he killed it this time. The sheer tops AND bottoms, the low necklines, free the nip, baby - I'm here for it.


As someone who is still playing the guessing game as to whether or not wearing a sheer top would constitute public indecency, I'm absolutely here for the movement Tyra Banks once eloquently described as "hoe, but then make it fashion." Its all about balance and making sure you're appropriately eccentric. OWN IT. My spring/summer risqué fashion move (once I'm back at the gym more lol tough 2 weeks) will most definitely be a sheer, embellished top & an ostrich feather jacket. Its almost like a "Britney in the early 2000s" bra-under-a-fur-coat type of look, and I will be embracing it full force. I'm also trying to get into the tiny sunglass trend by my head is just way too big. A sparkly choker & an embellished belt? I can most definitely work with that. The diamond encrusted bonnet is a LOOK but I think I'm just too poor for that. And again, big head. Can someone invite me to a party and give me a $50,000 wardrobe budget puhLEEZ?






















Also - the wedding dress. oh.my.god. I'm not getting married until I can wear this dress.



25 views0 comments
bottom of page