top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Matcha Nice Cream

It could be vegan, but whipped cream is so good.


My boyfriend and I worked from home yesterday because winter refuses to quit here in Boston, & it came down to 100% chance of snow v. 0% chance of me going outside. I did end up having to go outside though because 1) We had no food & 2) a realtor was showing the apartment and we didn't want to be around. I just didn't want to be sitting there while the real life version of the "damn, bitch, you live like this?" meme played out.


Snow days are never healthy days. I woke up and looked outside & immediately got back into bed. No gym, no work, not really any vegetables in the fridge, Rob made me hot chocolate, I had zero intention of walking further than the distance I kept between me and my bag of granola - nothing about the day was going to be on my fitness highlight reel.


Around 6pm we realized that we had no food left in the house and we were going to have to trudge outside if we wanted to eat any vegetables or protein that day. The original plan was to avoid the people viewing the apartment but, as luck would have it, they ended up not having a key to get in SOOOO I had to sit on the floor eating Mexican food in ripped pajama pants like a little gremlin (given I could've eaten a salad while sitting on the couch, but that seemed like a lot to ask of myself at the time) while two strangers stood in the kitchen avoiding eye contact with me. It took everything in me to not tell them I come with the apartment and I sleep in a pile of blankets in the corner.


I'm trying to get better about not spending all of my money on Halo Top, so I walked past CVS with my head down and told myself that if I was still hungry after dinner (obviously I would be) I'd make a new nice cream out of whatever we have laying around the house. UNFORTUNATELY I didn't have caramel macchiato Halo Top laying around, but I did have a bunch of matcha powder and dark chocolate! It turned out SO well & its actually my favorite nice cream I've made so far! The whipped cream was probably unnecessary but, snow day cheat day, right? The way I made this its naturally vegan (besides the whipped cream I know I know), but I'm sure milk chocolate or dairy would be great too!


Matcha Nice Cream (serves 2 but whatever, eat the whole thing, its bananas)

- 3 large frozen bananas, sliced.

- 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup of flax milk (or whatever type of milk substitute you prefer!) Use your judgement as to how much you need for your preferred thickness. You can also freeze it for a bit after you blend if you'd like it to be a little harder!

- pinch of salt

- 1 tsp vanilla

- 1 tablespoon of matcha (again, just to your taste!) and a little extra for dusting.

- Semi-sweet or dark chocolate chunks to taste (Trader Joe's are my favorite!)

- Whipped cream because it makes everything better


Put the bananas, dairy substitute, salt, vanilla, and matcha in a blender & blend to desired consistency. Add more liquid if needed! Once its blended, place it in a bowl and stir in chocolate chunks & freeze if needed. After you take it out of the freezer, use a sifter to sprinkle extra match powder on top. Add whipped cream and extra chocolate chunks if you're having yourself a day.


Its so, so good & even lower calorie than Halo Top! Go crazy.


I hope you guys try it & let me know if you make any substitutions or additions that work!






39 views0 comments
bottom of page