top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Winter Skincare Routine

Updated: Mar 2, 2018

If your skin is anywhere near the mess that mine is every winter, this is a life/skin saver.



I am a skincare hoarder. I have more face masks, serums, moisturizers, toners, and peels than I can comfortably fit in my bathroom, but every single winter my skin still goes to absolute trash. For the longest time, no matter what I put on my skin, my skin would have patches so dry that the skin was peeling off, huge pores from all the moisturizer I used to try to get rid of said dry patches, and of course, zits and blackheads EVERYWHERE.


It was SOOOO frustrating because I felt like I invested a lot of time and money in my skin and it still looked awful. I would get facial peels every once in awhile in college, but I didn't have the opportunity to go enough that it really made a difference. I would just leave with a bright red face, a breakout the next day, clearer skin by day 4, and zits and dry skin a week later.


This winter I decided to switch it up from past winters and completely revamp my skin care routine (instead of just trying a new brand/newer product) and I finally found something that works! Its important to always switch up your skin care routine anyway every once in awhile, just so your skin doesn't get too immune to the products you're using, but if you're not getting results at all anymore - definitely try some new products.


Alpha Beta Peel Extra Strength Daily Peel by Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare has quickly become my holy grail skincare product. I fell asleep with my favorite Drunk Elephant face mask on (T.L.C. Sukari Babyfacial, which I 10/10 recommend for its intended use) and my skin was horrible the next morning. Like, chunks of my skin were peeling off and everything was burning - bad. So bad. After I iced my face, I thought I would give the Daily Peel a shot ( I wasn't planning on using it until Friday night so if my face reacted as it usually does to peels, I could hide in my apartment). I kid you not, it was so gentle (and this wasn't even the sensitive skin formula!) and took all of the dead skin off in literal seconds. It was miraculous, I have never had an exfoliator work that well or that quickly. After having used the two steps (the first is primarily the exfoliator, the second is more of a serum) my skin took the rest of my skin care routine SO well. My face didn't look one bit oily, my pores were significantly smaller, and all of my makeup went on smoothly.


I've always used moisturizers from Sephora or a ~renowned~ makeup brand, but I've recently started using Cetaphil at the recommendation of a friend who was on Accutane at the time. Her dermatologist had told her its the absolute best option for moisturizers that won't clog your pores (and you apparently get REALLY dry skin from Accutane) & she was absolutely right. I put this all over my face and neck every morning and night, it takes about a minute or so to fully absorb (just keep massaging in upward circular motions) & it'll keep you moisturized and not greasy all day. Much less expensive than other brands & I'd make the argument that it works better! If you have oily skin, or get oily in the summer months, I would use it sparingly or look for a moisturizer for your specific skin type! I'll post a few moisturizer I use for when I'm oily in the summer in a bit!


Another drugstore product I started using at the recommendation of a friend is Dickinson's Original Witch Hazel. I've replaced my more harsh toners with this and I love it! You will not believe how much grime is on your skin until you start using witch hazel. I use it in the morning, after the gym, and after I take my makeup off at night - there is so much dirt and makeup left over its crazy. It's really gentle and has a pretty mild scent, and it also works great on your legs after you've shaved to prevent bumps and ingrown hairs!


My morning skincare routine and my evening routine are a little different! I'm still learning what's best for my face and how to not overdo it.


Morning:


Evening:


I'll make a master post of all of my favorite face masks as well because I use those a lot (probably like 3 times a week) but these are the basics that have been keeping my skin nice all winter!


I'm looking for a new anti-aging night serum if anyone has any suggestions! I know I'm 22 but I'm scared of getting wrinkles. I love trying out new products so if you have one in particular you love (ideally for dry/normal skin) I would love to hear about it! I'm a sucker for good packaging and pretty serums (I'm dying to try FARSALI but I don't want to just get it because its sparkly) so it really helps me when people have reviews because without them, I'm buying whatever is pink or covered in glitter. I first tried Drunk Elephant just because it had an elephant on it but that one turned out pretty well.


Happy hump day!

Ally














66 views0 comments
bottom of page