top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Sup!!

Updated: Mar 2, 2018

After months and months (like, 8 months,) my post-grad life has finally come together enough that I’m feeling ready to start blogging outside of Tumblr! If you’re reading this and found me via Tumblr, thank you so much for following me over here! Honestly, I don’t think I’m that interesting of a person or even very good at being a person, so the amount of support I’ve received from so many of you, asking me to start blogging on the reg’,  really pushed me to get my shit together and get this going! 

Clearly right now things are still very much in the beginning stages on this blog. I figured I’d just write an intro “I’m here!!” type of thing before I really get going. I genuinely cannot figure out how to add anything to this blog and its not very cute yet but,trust, it will be cute. 

SO, a little bit about my life right now and where I’ve been/what I’m doing! I recently graduated (at what point can I no longer say that?) with degrees in Political Science and Middle Eastern Studies. I’m super in to both topics but at this point in my life I am a raging ball of stress and don’t have the mental stamina to move to D.C. and start working on the Hill. My political leanings will become very evident very quickly so, yikes, but I promise you everything I say comes from a place of compassion, love for my country, and a desire to see my generation create a better world (LAAAAME, but that is my truth and I am on my little pink blog to speak it). 

As I’m sure many of those who have followed me in the past know, my life has been an on fire trashcan since last March. My seventeen year old sister got pregnant, I got relocated, my mom got cancer (and a whole bunch of other things) – it was…a fucking mess. This summer was my Hell on Earth but I’m so thankful to be out the other end. My mom made it (!!!!) and is healthier than ever, my nephew is the most beautiful little baby I’ve ever seen,  I still have quite a few life stresses to handle but I’m getting through it and honestly think I’m becoming a better person for it. After my mom was more or less in the clear (with the exception of a few surgeries here and there that I would go home for), I decided I was going to scratch any plans to start my career ASAP and just do what I want. Life is short & your mom almost dying in her late 40s is DEFINITELY an eye-opener. I worked as a substitute kindergarten teacher, I walked dogs, I worked at J. Crew, and spent way too much time watching The Office. It had its ups and downs & I definitely am working on getting back to a better fitness schedule now that I’m working full-time at a Marketing firm & not sporadic hours at J. Crew, but I’m at a place where I’m feeling pretty good about things – I’m excited to share my failures and occasional success stories with you!

I’m living in Boston with my boyfriend, Rob (who you will hear about a lot because I love him bunches). I currently do not have a dog living with me in Boston and as someone with 3 dogs at home I am SUFFERING without them. I want a French bulldog so badly. A woman I work with has a little snorty boy named Marty and, I kid you not, I am still wiping away tears because I just dropped off mail in her office and he gave me snuggles. We’re currently apartment shopping to get our first big kid apartment (just the two of us! and Truffle/Chloe/ Merlot/ I’m taking name suggestions for my lil frenchie babyyyy). I absolutely love Boston (even though I am freezing and constantly whine about wanting to move to San Diego). I know there are a few great Boston bloggers out there & I’m excited to contribute! My city is so much fun & I can’t wait to give you a million different taco recommendations. 

There are a few different directions I’d like to go with this blog so any input or suggestions would be appreciated! I’m going to do my best to do the tried and trusted #OOTD posts, but I’d also love to hit on a few other topics:

  • Outfit suggestions/ Picks: Things I’ve seen and love but personally haven’t purchased yet. Outfit ideas, style boards, things like that. 

  • Coverage of Fashion Shows: Though SOMEDAY it would be nice if Alexis Mabille invited me to sit front row, these will primarily be going over recent shows/ trends seen in RTW and Couture. I don’t get enough time to talk about them, because no one I know personally cares, so even if I’m talking to myself here I’m still going to be posting a bit on those. I’ll also have posts every once in awhile reminiscing on past shows, trends I’d like to see reemerge, outfit inspo, things of that nature. If this turns into being a situation wherein every 3 weeks I remind you guys of how much I love Louis Vuitton SS 2012, tell me to stop. 

  • Cooking & Meal Ideas: I LOVE COOKING! My boyfriend and I absolutely love cooking & we’re pretty good at it. We try to eat really healthy during the week and then go IN on the weekends (the best health plan? probably not BUT I own an ice cream maker and a blowtorch so not making homemade ice cream and creme brûlée seems wasteful). 

  • Health/Fitness: I am a gym psycho and I drink a lot of smoothies. I spent my last $200 a few months ago on a blender. Times are hard. 

  • Restaurants/Bars: I like food and there is A LOT of it in Boston. 

  • Travel/Activities/ etc: We’re trying to stop being homebodies and actually leave our apartment on weekends so maybe this will work as some sort of motivator? tbd. 

  • Beauty: I rub a lot of stuff on my face before bed and when I wake up. Sometimes the stuff works, sometimes it doesn’t, so I’m here to keep rubbing things on my face so you don’t have to find out for yourself which one is going to give you hives. Also I really like doing my makeup and I’m happy to share my favorite products with you (and would be very happy to hear any suggestions)! 

  • Politics: I’ll try to keep these limited but I think its really important that people be informed about our government/current issues/world issues/etc. I’m going to try to present the issue in a non-biased way, and then give you my incredibly biased opinion in the most tongue-in-cheek, satirical way possible (so as to not make you all uncomfortable or think I have **feelings**.)

  • Life updates/experiences/ that kinda stuff: I think a lot of who I am right now is just taking what life throws at me, rolling with the punches, and more or less working hard to try to get a grip. We’re all doing our best. Your late teens, twenties, I’m honestly anticipating my thirties – they’re HARD. No one has it all together, I really haven’t met anyone my age that has it even 70% together, and I think its important that we start seeing more truthful blogging that doesn’t ignore the hardships of being a young adult. Instagram isn’t real life but this blog will be, dammit. You’re probably going to leave a lot of my blog posts feeling significantly better about your own life. 

Here we are! We’re doing it! Thank you for supporting me the past few years on my previous blog & I hope you all love my new ~grown-up~ version. I’m going to do my best to post as frequently as I can & get some good, quality content up as soon as possible. 


Ally 


77 views0 comments
bottom of page