top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Big Kid Apartment!

Updated: Sep 10, 2019

A couple uncomfortable showings with some realtors later & Rob and I officially signed a lease yesterday!

Yay! Rob and I found a super cute apartment and we're moving July 1! It was really tough finding anything for that move in date but this place is awesome & we're staying until next September so once we move we can be on the September cycle! Big stuff!


I can't wait to start decorating it, its actually a pretty big space with hardwood flooring & white walls, so I've been given a beautiful little canvas to turn this into the Barbie dream home I'm sure Rob will come to like to some extent. My logic is that I'll make it really comfy and beyond that I don't think he particularly cares how I make it look (with the exception of the flamingo wallpaper I wanted to get for the bathroom, that got a firm no).


June is going to be such a busy month for us but its all really exciting! His sister is getting married in San Diego at the beginning of the month, then his cousin is getting married down the Cape, and we'll be getting ready to move. That being said, its going to be a very expensive month so everyone pray that I suddenly learn how to budget. Right now my only real "budgeting" plan is saving up for my Frenchie because we're not allowed to have one in this apartment, so that gives me 14 months from the move in day to save for my little nugget. I'm actually still using Wag! to walk dogs on my lunch break because I desperately miss having one living with me, & I'm walking my favorite French today :)


I'm really excited to share pics of my apartment once we move in and talk about getting it decorated and ready for living! Its going to be really fun to search through different blogs and Pinterest boards to find inspiration for our little space. Our #1 thing right now is getting a big comfy bed so that's the piece I think I'm going to use to come up with the design for the rest of our bedroom. Have not taken into consideration closet space quite yet, but I have a feeling I'm going to have to make part of the living room a make-shift makeup area and closet. I want my bedroom to feel like a hotel room designed for me (that Rob also loves) so I'm getting started on that project soon!


We're pumped to have our own little place in a fun location! We're still in Brighton, but I really like living in the Chestnut Hill area. Its such a pretty town & its a good place to get a little bit of suburbia in the mix. I love the city, but every once in awhile its nice to be in a more quiet spot. The reservoir right near BC is a great. When my mom and her sister were young (My aunt was in college at BC and my grandparents would send my 14 year old mother there for the weekends!) they used to walk around there a lot. My mom's sister passed when she was a junior at BC & walking around that reservoir and hanging out in that area were some of my mom's best and last memories with her, so it feels special being around. Hopefully my mom can come visit soon! She loves the area too and I'm trying to get her to move out here!



I'm just really happy to finally be moving in with Rob. God BLESS his roommate for putting up with me all these months, but I'm excited to have a room that actually looks like a girl lives in it lol. We're right near some great restaurants, close to Fenway, and 10 minutes from my beloved strip mall at Chestnut Hill. It feels so good to be in a position where, knock on wood, my life seems to be coming together a bit. Despite doing a facial peel last night that left me looking like I have horrible chin acne, and despite the fact that I just spilt an entire jug of water on my body while trying to bring it down to a conference room, life is a lot better now than it was this summer. Hopefully soon I'll be able to get my hands on a legit camera and be able to have more outfit/life posts on the blog, but for now I hope my words and crappy pics are sufficient.


So that was the big news from this past week! Hope you all are having a better Wednesday than I am & staying warm!


Ally :)




147 views0 comments
bottom of page