top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Blueberry Lemon Smoothie Bowl

Updated: Mar 2, 2018

I LOVE a good smoothie bowl. I can never get them out anywhere because everyone uses coconut water or nut milk (both of which I am allergic to, help) so I love experimenting with my little Nutribullet and finding new recipes! I am obsessed with anything blueberry/lemon flavored so this bowl is perfect for those of you like me who just want to be on the beach drinking blueberry Smirnoff mixed with lemonade (that’s a whole other post) but haven’t quite gotten to the point yet this year where being on the beach and consequently wearing a bathing suit sounds like a good time. I will not wear a t-shirt this year. I am 22 years old. Enough.

When it comes to smoothie bowls, I really just wing it with proportions until I get to the flavor I want. To keep this on the sweeter side, try limiting the amount of lemon juice you add to the mixture & instead add some lemon zest on top! It also keeps the smoothie itself #thic and looks pretty!

Freeze about a cup or two of blueberries the night before a long with 2 bananas! Cut up the bananas and put them in a ziplock bag BEFORE freezing them – trust. It is very cold peeling a frozen banana.

Blueberry Lemon Smoothie Bowl

  • 1.5 cups of frozen blueberries (save about a half cup for the top, you don’t have to use them all!)

  • 2 frozen bananas (use your discretion! You can use any amount depending on how thick you want your smoothie to be. If you want it almost a soft serve texture, use the two bananas and just a tiny splash of nut/seed milk)

  • Nut/seed/normal milk of your choice. Again, the amount is up to you! The more you use the thinner your smoothie will be.

  • about 1 teaspoon of lemon juice

  • 1/4 cup of KIND blueberry vanilla granola (optional)

  • 1 tablespoon of hemp seeds (optional)

  • 1-2 tablespoons of lemon zest (optional)

Place 1 cup of blueberries, the banana slices, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, and a splash of either water/nut/seed/or regular milk (to your desired thickness) into your blender. Blend away. Wake up the neighbors. buzz buzz, bitch. Its smoothie time.

Once its fully blended, test the thickness and figure out whether you’d like it thinner (add more liquid) or thicker (more banana) or if its all good, pour it into a bowl. Add the toppings above (granola, frozen blueberries, lemon zest, and hemp seeds) or the toppings of your choosing & serve! I love my hemp seeds but this would also be great with chia seeds or, I assume, the nut of your choosing. I’ve never eaten a nut so I don’t know but people seem to like nuts & frankly I feel like I’m missing out.

You can also make this into a yum, almost ice cream! I mean its still made out of bananas but its a great alternative for when you want ice cream but you’re trying to be healthy (obviously halo top exists as well and is the best thing to ever happen to me, but theoretically you won’t have to go to the store to make this).

If you’re making it into nice cream, use less blueberries (or none, make it whatever flavor you want), about 2-2.5 bananas, vanilla extract, a very small bit of liquid, a pinch of salt, & blend! Place it covered in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes and it’ll be sorta like ice cream! I like to add chocolate chips instead of blueberries every once in awhile!

Lemme know if you try this out with any other toppings that work well! & definitely let me know if you find a way to make this banana pseudo-ice cream taste like actual ice cream. We will be very rich.


:)

Ally


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page