top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Boston Restaurants - Post 1 of so, so many


I've gotten a bunch of requests to write about restaurants I love in Boston - and trust, there are a lot - so I thought I'd start with a great place I FINALLY tried for the first time this past weekend! I had only held off because I'd assumed it was unhealthy food, but turns out 1) a lot of it is actually pretty healthy and 2) there's one near me so I could get it on a weekend & who cares if its unhealthy on a Saturday anyway.


Bon Me is a primarily in-house made Asian-style food truck turned multiple storefronts and it is SO good. I had always seen (and smelt) their food trucks around, and two of their locations have been near my offices (Back Bay and the North End) but I hadn't looked into it, assuming I would be allergic to most things & that I didn't have to pound an 800 calorie lunch. So last weekend we were up in Chestnut Hill to grab some clothes/go grocery shopping, and instead of dragging Rob to Sweetgreen for the millionth time, I thought it'd be fun to go to Bon Me next-door. Rob loves Asian food so I figured we'd try it out & I'd do my best to find something I could eat.


Turns out I can eat almost everything & almost everything was pretty healthy. Rob got the sandwich with Chinese BBQ pork & loved it, and I got the Noodle Salad with Chicken & Lemon Vinaigrette - totally gluten & nut free! A lot of their menu is naturally or can be made gluten free & as far as Asian cuisine goes, really not too many peanuts or tree nuts. I believe a pretty significant portion of their menu is also available vegetarian and vegan! Rob and I loved the bubble tea. There was a great place we used to get bubble tea from in Amherst (and I, absolutely no shame, would order over $15 worth some nights just so they would deliver it to his dorm) & this is so far the best tea I've gotten in Boston comparatively. Send me all of your bubble tea/ boba spot suggestions.


Unfortunately, I can't eat any of the desserts, but they sound great & it looks like they also have a bunch of awesome sides that I really want to try AND *deep breath* they serve breakfast! If you can make it there while its still winter, they have seasonal specials & I'm dyingggg to try the black pepper and ginger pork. They have proteins of the day available at their restaurants and food trucks so there's always something new to try, and if everything is as good as what we got, its definitely worth taking a risk.


I've linked their website right here so you can check it out and see what location is closest to you! I'm very picky & not a lot of places get my high praise, but Bon Me does for sure. I'm looking forward to making another weekend trip up there so I can eat a bunch of sides and more unhealthy stuff, but I will be back during the week for the rice noodle salad. So good.


74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page