top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

Dolce and Gabbana Used Drones at Milan Fashion Week & People Are Losing Their Minds

Updated: Mar 2, 2018

Robots are officially living a better life than me but, then again, so are most suburban dogs.





It was bound to happen eventually & of course D&G was the first to do it. The FW 2018 Ready to Wear Collection was phenomenal in and of itself - an homage to the Church of Dolce's childhood in Sicily - but despite its Catholic theme (often deemed insolent, sigh), the traditional crowd (read: oldies) seemed to be more upset by the use of drones on the runway. Given I personally didn't find this show to be a critical statement on Catholicism, Nicki Minaj x Versace at the Grammy's in 2012 has prepared me to always be on the defense. Imagine bringing a whole-ass Pope cosplayer as an accessory? Iconic.


The drones did bring up an interesting topic that I hadn't given much thought to in the past - I know we joke that robots are taking our jobs, but will models ever become obsolete? What effect will this have on runway shows in the future? I want to scream "NOOOO! EVERYTHING WILL BE NORMAL JUST MORE EFFICIENT" from the highest mountain top, but I think it's worth talking about more in-depth.


One comment I read was concerned that by making models obsolete (a little dramatic but okay) D&G is paving the way for an imminent end of runway shows as we know them. Would you go to a concert just to have an MP3 player onstage instead of the musician? I mean, in all fairness, I thought that was what EDM and House Music is. I don't see the use of technology such as drones to be indicative of models becoming obsolete at all. That being said, I'm not one to watch fashion shows to see my favorite models in the same way I attend concerts to see my favorite musicians. Sure, some models are better than others - if you threw me out on the runway I guarantee you I could make D&G look disgusting - but I never look to models to see what the clothes will look like on me, nor do I see them as an aspect of the show that could sway my opinion on the collection in its entirety either way. One, because I can't afford this stuff and two, I will never look like a runway model. Maybe that's more a problem with body type representation than anything else - maybe some people do go to shows to see the models walk - but I think its a slippery slope to assume that the introduction of technology on the runway will ultimately end the use of models and live audience runway shows. I'll still go. If anyone wants to invite me. I'm available.


Models are probably never going to become obsolete. With handbags, you're really just looking at design and then maybe functionality. A drone can just as easily carry a handbag down the runway as a model, if not more efficiently and at eye level. Bags are never really the star of any runway show, so I think giving them their own moment is actually pretty beneficial. When I'm looking at a model walking in a show, the LAST thing I notice is the bag. Dolce & Gabbana's bags are worth the extra pageantry. What I do notice on the model, and what can't be replaced by robots (that I know of) is how the fabric flows, how the design is meant to drape, the hair, the makeup - everything that creates a living art exhibition and differentiates runway shows from Barney's window displays. Models bring the creations to life - we do need them - but its up to the designer's own creative discretion to decide which shows should stay more traditional, and which shows can support the shock factor that is advanced technology (or carrying heads and small dragons instead of purses). What we're seeing right now is fairly predictable - the brands championed by millennials such as Gucci, D&G, Balenciaga, Off-White, Vetements, Louis Vuitton, etc - are naturally going to introduce, on the runway and in their collections, what is interesting to their target demographic. It's clearly working.


I really love how D&G juxtaposed the traditional with the modern - Catholicism inspired design and drones - I think that made a statement itself. Tradition within the industry isn't going anywhere, but millennials and Gen Z are rapidly becoming the new influencers to cater to. Give us your irreverent, technology ladened, sequined exhibitions & we'll give you all the money we're not spending on avocados.


25 views0 comments
bottom of page