top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlly

I'm Employed, etc etc.

Updated: Mar 2, 2018

I figured I’d make my first ~ actual ~ post about woooooork because

  1. I just started my big girl job.

  2. Dressing for work is hard but I found a few things that are cute so far that I thought I’d share

  3. There are maybe 6 people in the office today and I am bored.

BIG GIRL JOB!!! I loved the people I worked with ( I guess still technically work with, though I have the next two weeks off and maybe will go back part-time??) at J. Crew but LEMME TELL YA – retail BLOWS. At least fast fashion retail. I am naturally OVERLY nice which is appealing to some people but J. Crew’s clientele as a whole was absolutley not having me. So the thing with the mall and area I worked in – there is a TON of money & quite a bit of it is really old, grumpy money. My J. Crew sits among Barney’s, Stuart Weitzman, Christian Louboutin, Louis Vuitton, YSL, Moncler, Dior, Ferragamo, blahblahablah -so most of my clients (wrangled in a lot of the 50+ crowd) right off the bat  viewed me as either trash (same) or a human coatrack (please stop throwing things at me). One day a woman came in holding TWO – T W O (2) – Birkins and I made the mistake of telling her I liked her bags. She snatched them away from my view so fast the wind nearly knocked me over and walked away from me like, utterly disgusted. My favorite line still was when a woman looked at me, looked at the sweater she was holding and goes “ugh. is that what it looks like on?” and threw it back on the table. I am happy to no longer be full-time retail.

Now I’m at a marketing firm in the North End and so far so good! I love the area and I can’t wait for summer ( I am dangerously close to Hanover street, my nirvana that we will discuss when I start my restaurant posts). My primary job is working with our two Executive Creative Directors, but I’m also working as the receptionist because I am cute and can answer a phone. My office doesn’t really have a dress code, but since I’m the one sitting up front when a client comes in, I probably should look halfway decent.

I found a TON of cute stuff at banana republic! I wouldn’t usually think to check there but I stopped in last weekend and found the first pair of “work pants” I’ve ever loved. The sloan fit are midrise, ankle pants that are slim fit through the hips and thighs & they look soooooo good on. I’ve had a rough two weeks at the gym (no excuses but I had a lot of excuses) and despite my low self-esteem these pants made my butt look #nice and fit super comfortably! I got them in navy and I’m going to go back and buy them in a few other colors as well! My other favorite pick was a white tshirt with an a-line peplum. It had a texture similar to that of a waffle shirt (thats what those are called right) but much more soft and thiccccc. I paired that with new Marc Fisher (I love Marc Fisher, that will become very evident) heels – the Zala Block Heel Pointy Toe in Black leather – and they are genuinely the most comfortable heels I’ve ever worn.


There I am! A nice bathroom selfie!! My other update is that I have short hair now & I actually really like it despite the fact that I sobbed about it all night and had to cancel dinner reservations, yikes.


Some of my other favorite picks from Banana were the Parker Fit Boyfriend Tunic, Dillon Fit Oxford Pocket Shirt, the Floral Lace top, the Heritage Silk Cowl-Neck Camisole Tunic, and the Structured Sheath Dress. Banana is doing an ~up to~ 40% off sale right now & I know the Sloan pants are included!

Right now I’m really in to silk tops, Wide leg pants, leather jackets (when am I not in to leather jackets), tunics, and the classic white button down with jeans and heels ~ralph lauren~ look.

Here are some of my favorite picks that I want to get for the winter/spring transition!


I did not realize these were all the same color but guess what my favorite color is!!!


I NEVER wear flats so I will keep you updated on my search for comfortable work shoes but right now I’m wearing 3 pairs of marc fisher heels on repeat.


:)

Ally


143 views0 comments
bottom of page